School News: DECA District Career Development Conference

10:12 PM, Jan. 23, 2013  |  Comments
  • Filed Under

D.C. Everest High School results of the Jan. 4 DECA District Career Development Conference in Wisconsin Rapids.

Accounting Application series: Ben Vang placed sixth overall.

Apparel and Accessories Marketing series: Lucas Foley and Tayla Hansen, one medal, Alexa Denk and Alyssa Hines, two medals. Series finalists: Hansen, Ashton Rucinski, Hines and Foley. Denk placed fourth overall.

Automotive Services Marketing series: Codie Hoffman, two medals, placed fifth overall.

Business Services series: Mitchell Bratz, one medal; Radney Christiansen, three medals. Series finalists: Isaac Flath, Christiansen and Bratz. Christiansen placed second, Bratz placed sixth overall.

Food Marketing series: Joe Patterson and Alec Martin, one medal; Sara Theobald, two medals. Series finalists: Theobald, Kayla Daigle, Martin, Logan Heil and Joe Patterson. Theobald placed second and Martin placed fifth overall.

Hotel and Lodging Management series: Brody Honkanen, Cora Gennerman and Elizabeth London, one medal; Lucas Gajewski and Cory Marquardt, two medals; Eric Schwan, three medals. Series finalists: Schwan, Michael Moe, Honkanen, Gennerman, London, Gajewski, Bridget Barry, Marquardt, Austin Solomon and Maddie Mittelsteadt. Schwan placed first, Marquardt placed second, Gennerman placed third and Solomon placed sixth overall.

Human Resource Management series: Kayly Petersen, one medal; Morgan Johnson, two medals. Series finalists: Petersen, Jared Gjertson and Johnson. Gjertson placed second and Johnson placed fourth overall.

Marketing Management series: Zack Becker, Nick Smitala and Chris Thompson, one medal; Nick Sierakowski, two medals. Series finalists: Becker, Sierakowski, Smitala and Thompson. Thompson placed third, Sierakowski placed fourth and Smitala placed sixth overall.

Quick Serve Restaurant Management series: Series finalists: Chris Maki and Khalia Kulppi, Kulppi placed fifth overall.

Restaurant and Food Service Management series: Hope Larson, one medal; Hayley Tobalsky, two medals. Series finalists: Austin Zajichek, Tobalsky, Larson and Jenny Yang. Zajichek placed third and Larson placed sixth overall.

Retail Merchandising series: Chris Babiarz, one medal; Thomas Seigharter, three medals; Holly Solomon won all four medals. Series finalists: Babiarz, Seigharter and Solomon. Solomon placed first and Seigharter placed fourth overall.

Sports and Entertainment Marketing series: Collin Humpal, one medal; Jacob Stroik, three medals. Series finalists: Humpal, Mitch Martin and Stroik. Stroik placed second and Humpal placed fourth overall.

Buying and Merchandising Management Team Event: Erica Byers and Dylan Brushaber, four medals; Kiley Bradfish and Mackenzie Erbrecht, one medal. Series finalists: Bradfish, Erbrecht, Courtney Hafeman, Danielle Albee, Sam Meuret, Kaitlyn LePine, Brushaber and Byers. Byers and Brushaber placed first, Meuret and LePine placed fourth and Bradfish and Erbrecht placed fifth overall.

Hospitality Services Management Team Event: Destiny Schultz and Emily Moore, four medals; Dylan Gusman, Max Osswald, Kallie Ziegler and Hannah LaCalamita, two medals; Jessica Gleason and Katelin Zebro, one medal. Series finalists: Schultz, Emily Dylan, Osswald, Ziegler, LaCalamita, Gleason and Zebro. Schultz and Moore placed first, Gusman and Osswald placed fourth, Ziegler and LaCalamita placed sixth overall.

Sports and Entertainment Marketing Management Team Event: Ralph Fontana, Chris Erickson, Ben Halkoski, Brady Borrell, Caleb Baumann and Caleb Becker, one medal; Jeff Schlichte and Dustin Johnson, three medals. Series finalists: Fontana, Erickson, Halkoski, Borrell, Baumann, Becker, Schlichte and Johnson. Schlichte and Johnson placed first, Halkoski and Borrell placed fourth overall.

Travel and Tourism Marketing Management Team Event: Cole Halligan and Brandon Dively, four medals. Series finalists: Dalton Nelson, Ben Welch, Austen Thiele, Nate Bruns, Cole Halligan, Dively, Dylan Pitts and Nick Fonti. Halligan and Dively placed first and Nelson and Welch placed fourth overall.

Send your school news to Jeanette Brandt, 800 Scott St., Wausau, WI 54402; call 715-845-0656; or send email to

What's your take on the Packers Family Night change?

Retrieving results.
Watching practice is fine.(Your vote)
579 votes
I'd rather watch a scrimmage.(Your vote)
862 votes
I don't want to pay to watch practice.(Your vote)
1025 votes
It doesn't matter to me.(Your vote)
1278 votes

Catch up on the latest in our pregame show every game day.

Football fans

If you've ever answered "Who has the ball?" with "It's halftime," you might recognize The Airhead. Check out the characters in our cartoon gallery of oddball fans.

Special Reports


Football fans

If you've ever answered "Who has the ball?" with "It's halftime," you might recognize The Airhead. Check out the characters in our cartoon gallery of oddball fans.

Special Reports