The Buhr family built a bridge for the Eagle Community Trail that leads past Waniger Schoolhouse as a memorial to their son, Brett Buhr.
The restored one-room Waniger Schoolhouse will be open to the public from noon to 3 p.m. each Saturday from today and through August. Everyone is welcome to stop in and see an original Southern Door historic schoolhouse.
Built in 1882 by German immigrants near the intersection of County C and MM and then relocated to Southern Door School on County DK, Waniger Schoolhouse was restored to its original 1800s appearance by volunteers.
Stop in and step back in time to reminisce about education when all eight grades were taught in one room. Admission is free; donations are appreciated.Namur news ...