Business briefcase

6:30 PM, Nov. 17, 2013  |  Comments
  • Filed Under

Employment anniversaries

35 years

Laurie Sewall, Marcia Hutjens, Ruth Kleczewski, St. Vincent Hospital, Green Bay.

30 years

Roberta Hicks, Mary LaJeunesse, St. Vincent Hospital.

25 years

Barbara Smith, Julie Phillips, Scott Rogers, St. Vincent Hospital.

20 years

David Ambrosius, Shannon Goeben, St. Vincent Hospital.

15 years

Devorah Vineburg, Volunteer Center of Brown County; Tammy Dorn, Norma Dobberpuhl, Jean Wozniak, Karla Karuse, Carmina Moreno-Laho, St. Vincent Hospital.

10 years

Patti Greenlund, Lori Brock, John Klinkhammer, Jennifer Lauer, Molly Kollross, Barbara Thirion, St. Vincent Hospital.

New officers

? Vicki Updike, president of Silver Star Brands (formerly Miles Kimball),Oshkosh. has joined the New North board of directors.

? Amber Wery, certified pharmacy technician at Streu's Pharmacy Bay Natural, Green Bay, has been named president of the Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin.

New on the job

? Linda Chosa, certified public accountant, joined Schenck, Green Bay, as a senior tax accountant. Kelly Mischler, staff accountant, is a University of Wisconsin-Green Bay graduate who is pursuing her CPA designation. Janice Socha, supervisor-small business center, earned her bachelor's degree from UW-La Crosse and her master of business administration degree with a concentration in accounting from University of St. Thomas. Phillip Willems, staff accountant on the government team, received his bachelor of business administration degree in accounting, and master of professional accounting degree from the UW-Whitewater.

? David Sengkhammee has joined Bellin Health as director of marketing. Sengkhammee, former marketing director for Time Warner Cable, earned his bachelor's in business administration degree from St. Norbert College, De Pere.

? Package inspectors Michael LaPlant, Austin Hesler and Tammy Pilgrim have joined N.E.W. Plastics, Luxemburg.

? Erica Dakins, social media and marketing specialist, has joined Lamers Bus Lines, headquartered in Green Bay. She will also assist in motor coach charter sales. Dakins is a 2006 graduate of UW-Eau Claire with a bachelor's degree in journalism.


? Wisconsin Waterfowl Association, Abrams, received a $1,500 Green Gift from Cellcom. The gift is meant to support the association's efforts to restore and conserve the state's waterfowl and wetland resources. A total of $31,500 was given out to 12 green organizations in Cellcom's service area. Other recipients include: Open Door Bird Sanctuary, Sturgeon Bay; Camp Tekawitha, Shawano; and the Brown County Library, Green Bay.


? Robert Radka Sr., Allouez, received an award from Local 298-Local 400 Plumbers and Steamfitters Union for teaching pipetrades welding for 20 years. Now retired, Radka also served as a steamfitter for 50 years.

? Paper Transport, Ashwaubenon, received the Green Bay Area Chamber of Commerce. Excellence in Business award. The company has experienced 30 percent growth each of the last two years, and has pushed the industry forward on natural gas powered trucks. Past recipients of the award include Arien's Company, Procter & Gamble, Schneider National and Shopko.

? JBS Carriers, based in Greeley, Colo., received a 2013 U.S. Environmental Protection Agency SmartWay Excellence Award, recognizing the company as a leader in freight supply chain efficiency. The transportation company has a location in Green Bay.

? Wisconsin Economic Development Ck]orp. recognized De Pere as one of this year's best downtown revitalization projects in the state. The city of De Pere and its partner, Definitely De Pere, were recognized with an honorable mention for best public-private partnership in downtown revitablization. The De Pere Riverwalk and Wildlife Viewing Pier was recognized as a best downtown public improvement; the Riverwalk was also highlighted as a Main Street Success Story. Chateau De Pere/Café Chanson received honorable mention in the best new downtown business category. The former De Pere library, shared the award for best adaptive reuse project. The building has been restored and now houses two firms: Nell and Associates (Rick Nell), and Strategic Financial Group (Derek Schanhofer). Julie Fink Fronsee, of Roels, Keidatz, Fronsee and Danen, De Pere, was recognized as the board member of the year.

? Green Bay's On Broadway was also recognized by the Wisconsin Economic Development Corp. Main Street Awards program. House of Homebrew, Green Bay, earned honorable mention for best facade rehabilitation over $7,500. On Broadway's marketing committee received honorable mention for Best Downtown Retail Event for the Gingerbread Home Tour. Vibe Dance Center won the Best Upper Story Development award. Elliot Christenson of Green Bay Net was named a volunteer of the year; and Richard Allcox was named to the Main Street honorary board of directors.

? Super Lawyers magazine named attorney and shareholder John D'Angelo, Stellpflug Law, to the Wisconsin Rising Stars 2013 list as a top attorney in criminal defense. Attorney Christina Peterson, also of Stellpflug Law, was named a top attorney in business litigation.

Good deeds

? The 21st annual Taste of the Town to benefit Big Brothers Big Sisters of Northeastern Wisconsin raised $105,000 to help youth in Brown, Door and Oconto counties.

What's your take on the Packers Family Night change?

Retrieving results.
Watching practice is fine.(Your vote)
579 votes
I'd rather watch a scrimmage.(Your vote)
862 votes
I don't want to pay to watch practice.(Your vote)
1025 votes
It doesn't matter to me.(Your vote)
1279 votes

Catch up on the latest in our pregame show every game day.

Football fans

If you've ever answered "Who has the ball?" with "It's halftime," you might recognize The Airhead. Check out the characters in our cartoon gallery of oddball fans.

Special Reports


Football fans

If you've ever answered "Who has the ball?" with "It's halftime," you might recognize The Airhead. Check out the characters in our cartoon gallery of oddball fans.

Special Reports