Brett Favre coming back to Green Bay

Richard Ryman
View Comments

DE PERE – Brett Favre is coming back to town.

Favre will receive the Distinguished Service Award on Aug. 9 during the Lee Remmel Sports Awards Banquet at the Swan Club. The awards are presented by the Rotary Club of De Pere, which donates proceeds to the athletic programs of the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, St. Norbert College and local high schools.

The legendary Packers quarterback has made only a couple of local appearances since his retirement in 2010, the most notable being his induction into the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame in 2015, but the Rotary award is connected to Lee Remmel, which apparently means something to Favre.

"I think Lee had a pretty special place for him," said Greg DeCleene, Rotary Club president and Legends De Pere/Swan Club owner.

RELATED: Favre as coach or manager? You never know

RELATED: Packers' 2017 opponents previews

Remmel, who died in 2015, covered the Packers for the Press-Gazette from 1945 until 1974, when the team hired him to lead its public relations and publicity efforts. He held that position for 30 years until he was named team historian in 2004.

"There will never be another like him," Favre told when Remmel retired in 2007. "His knowledge of the team and its history has always been impressive. He is sharp as a tack when it came to those things — truly impressive. He's always had a great sense of humor, too."

The event is two-thirds full with about 30 tables remaining, DeCleene said. Tables cost $1,000 for eight people and can be reserved at

This year's other recipients include: 

» Professional Achievement Award: Jason Berken, a West De Pere High School and Clemson University graduate. He played professional baseball with six Major League Baseball organizations, including the Baltimore Orioles and Chicago Cubs.

» Superior Achievement Award: Otis Chambers, retired athletic director at the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay and Bay Port High School. 

» Collegiate Achievement Award: Chris Nell, a goalie for Notre Dame Academy in Green Bay, the Chicago Steel of the United States Hockey League and Bowling Green University. He signed a free-agent contract with the New York Rangers and plays for the Hartford Wolf Pack of the American Hockey League, a Rangers affiliate. 

» Prep Achievement Award: Tannor Wagner excelled at cross-country and track at Ashwaubenon High School and will attend the University of Wisconsin. 

Favre's 20-year career includes induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame and the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame. He made an NFL-record 297 consecutive regular-season starts (321 including playoffs) and led the Packers to two Super Bowls, winning one. He threw for 71,838 yards and 508 touchdowns, and rushed for 14 more. He was named the NFL's Most Valuable Player three times.

The Lee Remmel Sports Awards were established in 1998 by Rotary Club of De Pere with the support of Remmel. This is the 18th awards presentation.

Lee Remmel Sports Awards Banquet

What: Awards honoring outstanding administrators, coaches and athletes with connection to the state of Wisconsin.

When: Aug. 9. Doors open at 5:30 p.m. Dinner and awards at 7 p.m.

Where: Swan Club, 875 Heritage Road, De Pere

Cost: $1,000 for a table of eight; $125 individual.

Reservations: Go to

Brett Favre is the subject of the documentary "Finding Favre."


View Comments