Greene, Wolf among Hall of Fame finalists

Press-Gazette Media
View Comments

Former Green Bay Packers assistant coach Kevin Greene is among 18 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame this year.

Also in the group is former Packers general manager Ron Wolf, who already was a finalist as nominee by the new special contributors committee.

The Hall of Fame reduced its list of nominees Thursday to 15 from the modern era, one senior and two contributors. A finalist must receive at least 80 percent of the votes from the 46-person selection committee to be elected.

The class of 2015 will be announced Jan. 31 in Phoenix during "NFL Honors," the TV show in which The Associated Press hands out its eight individual NFL awards. Inductions will be in August in Canton, Ohio.

Greene, who coached the Packers' outside linebackers from 2009-13, is a finalist for the fourth straight year.

The finalists who are in their first year of eligibility are Junior Seau, Kurt Warner and Orlando Pace.

The other modern-day finalists are kicker Morten Andersen, running back Jerome Bettis, wide receiver Tim Brown, coach Don Coryell, running back Terrell Davis, coach Tony Dungy, linebacker-defensive end Charles Haley, wide receiver Marvin Harrison, coach Jimmy Johnson, safety John Lynch, and guard Will Shields.

The senior nominee is former Vikings center Mick Tingelhoff.

The other special contributor is Bill Polian, the former GM of the Buffalo Bills, Carolina Panthers and Indianapolis Colts.

View Comments