Troy Polamalu headlines Pro Football Hall of Fame's 2020 class

The Pro Football Hall of Fame has welcomed the final members of its 2020 class.

Two weeks after 15 inductees were selected for the centennial slate as part of an expanded class, five modern-era candidates were announced on Saturday: safeties Troy Polamalu and Steve Atwater, running back Edgerrin James, wide receiver Isaac Bruce and offensive guard Steve Hutchinson.

Polamalu was the lone player selected in his first year of eligibility. An eight-time Pro Bowl selection and four-time All-Pro, the Pittsburgh Steelers standout won two Super Bowls. He was one of the few defensive backs to win Defensive Player of the Year when he claimed the award in the 2010 season.

"Honestly, it's just surreal," Polamalu told the Steelers' website. "I really feel surreal. I'm very thankful for all my teammates. This truly is a tribute to them. And I feel honored and unworthy of this, to be honest."

Atwater was also an eight-time Pro Bowl selection and two-time champion with the Denver Broncos. Known for his physical and aggressive style of play, he was also a selection for the NFL's All-Decade team for the 1990s. 

James made the cut for the Hall of Fame in his fourth year as a finalist. The four-time Pro Bowl selection for the Indianapolis Colts ranks 13th all-time in rushing with 12,246 yards.

“It means everything to me to be sitting here,” James told reporters at the NFL Honors ceremony after being selected.

“After I’ve been through the process for years … you just have to be patient. The work is done, it’s just a matter of time. It’s one of those things you can’t be too high to too low about, and when your number is called you get to be right here where we are today.”

Bruce was key part of the St. Louis Rams' "Greatest Show on Turf" teams. A four-time Bowl selection, he ranks fifth in NFL history with 15,208 receiving yards.

An anchor for both the Seattle Seahawks and Minnesota Vikings, Hutchinson was selected to the Pro Bowl seven times and was a five-time All-Pro.

The centennial candidates who were previously chosen were offensive tackle Jimbo Covert, coach Bill Cowher, offensive tackle Winston Hill, wide receiver Harold Carmichael, offensive tackle Duke Slater, coach Jimmy Johnson, defensive end/linebacker Ed Sprinkle, NFL Films pioneer Steve Sabol, defensive tackle Alex Karras, safety Bobby Dillon, safety Donnie Shell, executive George Young, safety Cliff Harris, receiver Mac Speedie and commissioner Paul Tagliabue.

The modern-era candidates will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at a ceremony in Canton during enshrinement week from Aug. 6-9, while the centennial candidates will be welcomed Sept. 16-19.