Arizona Cardinals' Kyler Murray lands in Top 5 of NFL MVP odds for 2020 season

Jeremy Cluff
Arizona Republic
View Comments

Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kyler Murray is tied for fifth in early NFL MVP odds for 2020.

William Hill Sports Book released its odds to win the 2020-21 AP Pro Football MVP Award and Murray comes in at 20/1, tied with Houston Texans quarterback Deshaun Watson.

Not bad for a second-year quarterback.

Evidently, the sports book expects a lot from Murray after the team added DeAndre Hopkins in a blockbuster trade and secured at least another season from running back Kenyan Drake.

MORE:Arizona Cardinals' expectations for 2020 rising after DeAndre Hopkins trade, other moves

Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes leads the list, at 9/2.

Lamar Jackson of the Baltimore Ravens, last season's MVP, is second at 7/1.

The Seattle Seahawks' Russell Wilson, at 10/1, is third.

New Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Tom Brady is ahead of Murray and Watson at 18/1.

MORE:Arizona Cardinals could still pick CeeDee Lamb in NFL draft after DeAndre Hopkins trade

Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson (3) and Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kyler Murray (1) exchange jerseys after a game at State Farm Stadium last season. They could be contending for the NFL MVP Award in 2020.

The top 12 contenders for the award, according to William Hill, are quarterbacks.

The first running backs appear at 30/1: The Carolina Panthers' Christian McCaffrey, the Tennessee Titans' Derrick Henry and the New York Giants' Saquon Barkley.

Murray is one of three Cardinals to receive odds for the award.

Hopkins comes in at 150/1 and Drake comes in at 200/1.

MORE:NFL power rankings: Arizona Cardinals soar in NFL rankings after DeAndre Hopkins trade

Former Cardinals running back David Johnson, whom Arizona traded for Hopkins, is tied with Hopkins in odds for the NFL MVP award, at 150/1.

Murray won the NFL's Offensive Rookie of the Year honor last season after getting picked by the Cardinals with the No. 1 pick in the 2019 NFL draft.

Could he follow it up with the NFL MVP award?

It's not out of the realm of possibility.

Both Mahomes (2018) and Jackson (2019) took home the award in their second seasons.

View Comments