3 nominated for Packers board of directors

Press-Gazette Media

Green Bay Packers shareholders will vote on three candidates, including two Green Bay businessmen, for election to the team’s board of directors at next month’s annual meeting.

The candidates, selected at last month Packers board of directors meeting, are Philip B. Flynn, president & CEO of Associated Banc-Corp, Green Bay; Michael J. Haddad, president & CEO of Schreiber Foods, Green Bay; and Dr. Elizabeth “Betsy” Trowbridge, associate professor of medicine, associate vice chair and division chief of general internal medicine at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health in Madison.

If elected, Trowbridge will become the sixth woman on the 42-member board. She is the daughter of former board member Fred Trowbridge Jr. and the the granddaughter of Fred Trowbridge Sr., who was the Packers' treasurer from 1959 to 1980. Fred Trowbridge Sr. was inducted into the Packers Hall of Fame in 1984 as a contributor.

The list of candidates is included in proxy information being sent this week to more than 360,000 shareholders in advance of the their annual meeting at 11 a.m. July 24 at Lambeau Field.

Longtime board members John N. MacDonough, John C. Meng and Michael R. Reese will take on emeritus status at that time.

In addition to the board vote, the meeting includes reports from team president/CEO Mark Murphy and General Manager Ted Thompson, among others.

Information about the annual meeting, which will be updated as the date approaches, also can be found online at www.packers.com/community/shareholders.html or www.packersowner.com.