Clifton, Collins named to Packers Hall of Fame

View Comments
Green Bay Packers safety Nick Collins celebrates after returning an interception for a touchdown against the Pittsburgh Steelers in Super Bowl XLV at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, on Feb. 6, 2011.

Two former Green Bay Packers players and a broadcaster will be inducted into the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame this summer, the team announced on Friday.

Offensive tackle Chad Clifton, safety Nick Collins and former broadcaster Russ Winnie will be honored at the 46th Hall of Fame induction banquet on July 23 in the Lambeau Field Atrium.

Clifton, a second-round draft pick in 2000, appeared in 165 games in his 12-year career — the second most games played by an offensive tackle in franchise history, behind Forrest Gregg’s 187. He was selected to the Pro Bowl twice (2007 and 2010) and played on eight playoff teams, including the 2010 squad that won Super Bowl XLV.

Green Bay Packers tackle Chad Clifton during training camp in August 2010.

Collins, a second-round pick in the 2005 draft, played seven seasons for the Packers, earning three Pro Bowl selections (2008-2010). He finished his career with the team with 21 interceptions, including one returned for a touchdown in Super Bowl XLV. The touchdown game the Packers a 14-0 lead in their eventual 31-25 victory.

Winnie broadcast Packers games for 18 years (1929-1946). During his tenure the Packers won six NFL championships. He also broadcast Wisconsin Badgers football for 16 of those years. He died in 1956 at age 49.

View Comments