Aaron Nagler speaks with Michael Cohen of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel about the decision by the Green Bay Packers to place quarterback Aaron Rodgers back on injured reserve.


GREEN BAY - A day after learning they would miss the postseason for the first time since 2008, the Green Bay Packers were shut out of the Pro Bowl on Tuesday for the first time since 2013.

Defensive tackle Mike Daniels and fullback Aaron Ripkowski were selected as first alternates. Additional alternates were receiver Davante Adams, left tackle David Bakhtiari, outside linebacker Clay Matthews and rookie punter Justin Vogel.

A year ago, the Packers had four Pro Bowl selections: Bakhtiari, quarterback Aaron Rodgers, since-departed guard T.J. Lang and safety Ha Ha Clinton-Dix.

Rodgers' chances of being chosen for a fourth straight season were torpedoed when he suffering a broken right collarbone Oct. 15 at Minnesota. He missed seven games and was put back on injured reserve Tuesday after playing in Sunday's 31-24 loss at Carolina

The Packers are 7-7. The only other NFC team to have no players selected was the Chicago Bears (4-10). Three teams were shut out in the AFC (Jets, Colts, Browns).