Former Packers safety LeRoy Butler misses cut for Hall of Fame

Packers News
View Comments
Green Bay Packers Leroy Butler knocks the ball away from Lions receiver Johnnie Morton during  a game at Lambeau Field on Sept. 9, 2001.

Former Green Bay Packers safety LeRoy Butler failed to get the call Tuesday as one of the 15 finalists for 2018 induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Butler did make the cut as one of 27 modern-era semifinalists for the first time last November, boosting his chances for future induction.

Two other safeties — Brian Dawkins (formerly of the Philadelphia Eagles and Denver Broncos) and John Lynch (formerly of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Denver Broncos) — were among the 15 finalists. 

Butler, a four-time Pro Bowl and All-Pro selection during a 12-year career, recorded 38 interceptions and 20.5 sacks. He was the first defensive back in NFL history to accumulate 20 interceptions and 20 sacks.

RELATED:Jerry Kramer ready to ‘blow the doors off’ Hall of Fame

RELATED:8 potential candidates for Packers' general manager job

RELATED:Ted Thompson's top 5 NFL draft hits, misses

 The Hall of Fame named him to the all-decade team honor and in 2007 the Packers inducted him into their Hall of Fame.

In addition to helping the Packers win the Super Bowl in 1996, Butler is known for inventing the “Lambeau Leap,” a touchdown celebration he started in 1993 after finishing a defensive touchdown with a leap into the stands.

The other Hall of Fame finalists are linebackers Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher, wide receivers Randy Moss, Terrell Owens and Isaac Bruce, guards Steve Hutchinson and Alan Faneca, tackles Tony Boselli and Joe Jacoby, running back Edgerrin James, cornerback Ty Law and Everson Walls and center Kevin Mawae.

Former Packers guard Jerry Kramer and former Houston Oilers linebacker Robert Brazille are senior finalists for election to the Hall of Fame during Super Bowl weekend in Minneapolis.

View Comments