Butler, Sharpe, Holmgren are Hall of Fame nominees

Jeff Ash
Gannett Wisconsin Media
View Comments
Green Bay Packers safety LeRoy Butler.

Three figures in the Green Bay Packers' rise to NFL prominence in the 1990s are modern-era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2015.

The hall announced the list of 113 modern-era nominees on Tuesday night. Modern-era nominees must be retired for at least five consecutive years, and have played in the last 25 years.

The Packers' nominees are safety LeRoy Butler, who played from 1990 to 2001; wide receiver Sterling Sharpe, who played from 1988 to 1994; and Mike Holmgren, who coached the team from 1992 to 1998 and led it to a victory in Super Bowl XXXI in January 1997. All three have been nominated in previous years. All three also are members of the Packers Hall of Fame.

Two players who spent one season each with the Packers also were nominated. Defensive tackle Steve McMichael finished his career with the Packers in 1994 after spending 13 seasons with the Chicago Bears. Punter Sean Landeta played for the Packers in 1998 as part of a 21-year NFL career.

Also nominated: linebackers Kevin Greene, who was the Packers' outside linebackers coach from 2009 to 2013, and Clay Matthews, the father of Packers linebacker Clay Matthews III; and defensive lineman Carl Hairston, who coached the Packers' defensive ends from 2006 to 2008.

The Hall of Fame Selection Committee will narrow the field to 25 modern-era semifinalists in late November, then to 15 finalists in early January. Final voting will be done and announced Jan. 31, the day before Super Bowl XLIX. The Class of 2015 will be inducted into the hall in Canton, Ohio, next August.

Former Minnesota Vikings center Mick Tingelhoff is the lone senior finalist, and two contributor finalists will be chosen by the hall's Contributor Selection Committee.

Former Packers quarterback Brett Favre becomes eligible for the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2016 and is considered likely to be inducted in his first year of eligibility.

There are 22 Packers players and coaches in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, with linebacker Dave Robinson the most recent inductee in 2013. Five others who played briefly for the Packers also are in the Canton hall.

-- or follow on Twitter @JeffAshPG

View Comments